Posted by: Becka | February 2, 2009

An Inspiration To Me

There are things in life that we don’t realize we are thankful for until we are brought face to face with them.  Around Thanksgiving, or other times I am listing things that I am thankful for, I always end up listing the same things: family, job, house, church, salvation, etc.  However, living close to my mother-in-law has taught me to be thankful for my eyesight.  My mother-in-law is legally blind.  She can see enough to live life normally, but things that are easy for you and me are difficult for her.  She has to magnify cooking instructions in order to cook meals, she can’t see the music in choir, so she listens to a tape until she memorizes her part and the words, and many more similar circumstances.  Yesterday, she couldn’t tell I was in the same room as her until I spoke (granted there were a lot of other people in there as well).   Yet, not one time have I ever heard her complain. I have a tendency to complain about a lot of things.   Her eyesight has gotten a little worse since I have known her.   If I couldn’t see as clearly, I’m not sure that I would have the same sweet spirit about it that she does.  She reminds me to be content with whatever my circumstances are. Last night we had a missionary at church.  He was showing his slideshow and it had text at the bottom of each picture.  It wasn’t until halfway through the slideshow that I realized that she couldn’t read it.  I read the rest of it to her, but I felt bad that it didn’t occur to me earlier. Yet, she didn’t mind that she missed half of it, she was thankful that I read the second half to her.  I love her.  She is an inspiration to me.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this with me! it made me tear up! There are so many times that I take things like this for granted! I love you and I love Mrs. Bowers also! She does what she can for the Lord! It is an inspiration to me as well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

