Posted by: Becka | February 6, 2009

Kindness, Love and Concern for Others Vs. Comfort Zone

Last Wednesday night in Teen Impact (our Wed. night teen program), we watched a movie entitled “A Man Called Norman.”  It was a great reminder of what Christian love should be.  The man in the movie moved into a house across the street from the weirdest, dirtiest, most unlikeable man in town.  His name was Norman.  Norman’s neighbor (I don’t remember his name, so I’ll call him….Robert), Robert, felt the Lord prompting him to talk to Norman.  He didn’t want to talk to him for fear of what the townspeople would say.  Throughout the course of the movie, Robert feels the Lord prompting him to invite Norman into his home, take Norman to a baseball game, buy Norman brand new clothes instead of giving him hand me downs, clean and fix up Norman’s house, and even help Norman bathe properly (most of the movie is Robert speaking to an audience about Norman, not actual scenes of these things happening). 🙂  At the end, after becoming Norman’s friend when nobody else would, Norman receives the Lord as his Saviour.  Robert says, “I realized that there are Norman’s everywhere.”  It was a really touching movie and caused me to think more about others.

Many times I get caught up in what I want to do, or what other people might think of me.  Or maybe someone will get mad at me if I am too outspoken about my beliefs.  This short, simple movie encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone more often in an effort to win people to Christ.  Many times I put my own feelings in front of someone’s eternal state and my comfort zone wins over eternity.  I was reminded that stepping out of my comfort zone was a small price to pay in comparison to someone’s eternity. 

If you ever get a chance to watch this movie, it will probably encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and reach out to those who are in need.

So the man’s name reminded me of Norman from the nursing home.  Remember him?  I loved that guy!  He was so nice and funny and just an encouragement.  I loved when he would bring his trumpet to the services. 🙂 lol  I bet the other people could hear that.  Thankfully, they couldn’t hear Clinton’s singing. 🙂  lol

When I saw this movie, I also thought of Josh Mancini.  Though many humorous and gross memories arose at the same time, but it also made me think that maybe we didn’t reach out like we should have.  He seemed to take the teasing well, but then again, maybe it was a cover for what he was really feeling.  Now, I realize that being a girl, I had less of an opportunity to reach out to him.  The guys in our y.g. may have reached out more than I know.  And I’m not saying that we didn’t try at all.  Maybe too, Josh was unreachable.  The description of Norman in that movie could almost fit Josh except that Norman was old. 🙂  lol  I also realize that by putting this in, I am going to get some interesting comments.  lol  Anyways, I just wanted to share my thoughts on this subject and encourage others to step out of their comfort zone.  Which, of course, is easier said than done.

Responses

  1. You’re right, Becka, as a whole the youth group didn’t do enough to reach out to him. I saw sparks of compassion here and there, but I don’t think we truly showed him the love of Christ. I don’t think we were bad to him, but we definitely should’ve done better.

    Before camps/retreats, I would go over to his house and help him wash his clothes. I would repeatedly try to help him with his social short-comings. The dad didn’t seem too concerned with bringing out the best in him. Josh wasn’t unreachable. Just needed the Christians who had the opportunity to impact him to have a bit more patience and understanding.

    Well, with how God has chosen to order my own life, I guess it hits home a little more now.

    • Wow, Jay. I had no idea. I wasn’t judging either. I mean, I never wanted to be around him, but now I realize that I had a very immature additude about it (i mean, no surprise there, but still. lol). At least, we did try. Maybe not like we should have, but we didn’t completely ignore him either. 🙂

      Jen, yeah, I’m the same way about feeling too shy (believe it or not. lol).

      Oh, on a funny note. When Matt was reading my blog, he said, “Who’s Jayne Pomuceno?” I started laughing and then he said, “I knew who it was, I just thought it was funny.” And since it was funny, I thought I would share it with you. lol 🙂

  2. We should do movie nights in our youth group, that would be awesome!! 🙂

    I was kinda thinking about this today as Heather and I were at the mall. There were these three teen girls just standing by where we were getting our makeup done, so I just started talking to them – they didn’t seem to really have anyplace to go. (And I totally wished I had teen tracts with me, or any tracts for that matter!) 😦 ) I realized how many times I feel too shy and don’t talk to people I don’t know, but that it’s really not that hard and some people just need people to care about them. Like one of the girls at the mall, she lives with her grandma and told me she didn’t think her mom liked her at all (mom lives in Florida), so she gets piercings just to tick off her mom.

  3. Let’s see what Matt does with my new and improved username!

    I still have no idea what my parents were thinking when they named me.

    • lol Too funny. I’m sorry you got stuck with that name, but at least you have a nice way to shorten it and make it normal. lol I am going to try to be nice to my kids, but with Matt involved in the naming process, they might end up with, at the least, unusual names. lol At least he thinks names like Chase Danger (names not changed, but still trying to protect the innocent) are a little too much. lol There’s hope!


Leave a Reply

Categories

