Posted by: Becka | May 27, 2009

A Bicycle, A Sunburn, and a Turtle

Last Saturday, Matt and I went bicycle shopping.  Matt has a nice mountain bike, but I didn’t have any bike.  Since it was such a beautiful day, we took the top and doors off the Jeep and were loving the nice weather. 
This is the coolest thing.  If you look close, you can see a rainbow in the clouds.  I had never seen that before.  It was beautiful!

This is the coolest thing. If you look close, you can see a rainbow in the clouds. I had never seen that before. It was beautiful!

Well, the bike shop in Milford was closed, so we made a spur of the moment decision to go down to the beach and check out the bike shops down there.  Only here’s the problem.  I wanted to get a little  sunburned so I could start a tan, so I didn’t put any sunblock on.  Now, anybody who knows me or knows about redheads knows that this is probably a bad idea.   But we were only going to be out for a few hours, right?  No big deal. 

Well, we went to three bike shops in Rehoboth and third time was the charm.  I got an awesome and pretty Trek bike.  I love it.  We got home in plenty of time to get ready for the Retro Banquet.  During the banquet, my arms and knees started hurting a little bit.  By the time the banquet was over, my right knee (the one that was facing the sun all afternoon) was bright red and pretty sore.  So, I got my first bad sunburn of the year, but at least most of it is turning into a tan and not peeling.  lol  I am going to have an awfully odd tan line for a few weeks though.  lol

My new bike. 
My new bike.

Sunday, on the way to choir practice we found another turtle in the road!  He is really old and a little mean looking, so Matt named him Darth Gibbs.  I know, weird name, but I named Speed Bump, so he got to name this one.

Darth Gibbs

Darth Gibbs

Monday, before the enormous rainfall, Matt and I went to Browns Branch Park and rode our bikes around.  So fun!  We ran into some people we know and decided to call it quits when the sky started getting dark.  We didn’t have the top on the Jeep, so we were trying to beat the storm home.  Thankfully, we didn’t get very wet and made it home (and in the garage) before the downpour started.  Whew!

Responses

  1. i was wondering if you got stuck in the storm i know you said you were going after we left and i did not know when you went so for a while i thought you had.
    (i liked the name darth gibbs, it fits him lol.)

  2. TREK! lol, reminds me of the Trek plant (or whatever you call it) that we always drove by on the way home from Sun Prairie…the one that what’s his name worked at….lol. Stephen?

    • Yep, Michelle, we made it – barely. lol Matt picked the name. Whatever. It is original, so…. 🙂 lol
      Jen, yeah it was Trek either in Waterloo or Marshall (I think it was Marshall). Yeah, the one Stephen worked at. So, now I have my very own bike from…WI? lol Anyways, I love it. So worth the money! 🙂

  3. I need to get a bike. I like yours it is very pretty!


Leave a Reply

Categories

