Posted by: Becka | August 28, 2009

Wait,….the Microwave???

A story was passed around the libraries within our county of a lady that returned a damaged book to the library.  Apparently, the cover had “melted” because her boyfriend “forgot to put a cup of water in the microwave when he microwaved it.”  He also apparently forgot to take the plastic cover off (which is hard to do anyways, and you shouldn’t do it).  I was very surprised that people would microwave their books?!  Interesting, to say the least.  This makes me wonder if this is a normal occurrence among library patrons.  “Oh, no.  I spilt some water on the library’s magazine.  I’ll just stick it in the microwave to dry it out.”  Why not the oven?  Or in a pot on the stove?  Hey, they could throw it in the fireplace.  That’ll dry it up quickly!  People are crazy!

Responses

  1. On the BBQ, maybe?

  2. My favorite was the ones that came back wet. You just wonder where’s it’s been.
    Um, yeah, libraries don’t attract the best clientel… or the brightest, lol. I was just telling Felipe today about the Nevada lady. Were you there for that? Sheesh, she was the worst ever. I saw the Frenchman at Wal Mart the other day. I wanted to ask him if his wife was still dying from cancer. (his fake alibi that he later forgot he had told us). Seriously, it’s a dollar fine, and you try and pretend your wife has cancer so you don’t have to pay it?

  3. Yeah, the BBQ – umm…great idea! Maybe not.

    I don’t know about the Nevada lady. I totally remember the frenchman though! The other day a lady was in here arguing that the dvd wasn’t damaged…it was just soda she spilled all over, and she didn’t have time to clean it up. Hmm… guilty, or not guilty? It rains a lot more here, so I always tell myself it was the rain on the book….however, it does become a problem when the day is as sunny as can be…..

  4. The Nevada lady was the one with a CA drivers license that had a Nevada address on it. Weird. And she was probably one of the weirdest people I have ever run into. Well, besides that one lady who talked to herself and saw people who weren’t there and did really bizarre things.
    The Nevada lady was the one who was chewing on gauze in her mouth, and thought that we were trying to steal her ID…

  5. …among other bizarre things! She honestly scared me because you never knew what she was going to do or say!

    • lol I don’t totally remember her, but it sounds familiar. Lol I dislike the whole “scared because you have no idea what in the world they are going to do next!” feeling. lol

  6. I am glad I don’t have to deal with library patrons! lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

