Posted by: Becka | September 2, 2009

Computers…Can’t Live With ‘Em, Can’t Live Without ‘Em

I know I haven’t been very good about posting lately, but nothing has been super exciting.  Once Summer Reading ended, work has been normal.  Well…..almost.  Yesterday was an interesting experience and definitely added some excitement to the week.  I was working the late shift (not normal for me to do so on a Tuesday, but a co-worker was sick, so I came in later) and when I was taking my dinner break, about 4:30pm, two of my coworkers came into my shared office looking a little guilty.  Martha says, “The computer is making clicking noises and says ‘hard disk failure.'”  lol  Oh no!  Yeah.  So the director was on the phone for the rest of her shift trying to find out when we could get it fixed (i.e. new hard drive).  This in general would have been a bummer, but not a huge deal if it were any other computer, but it was the main computer that controls our computer log-ons.  We use this computer to do computer work when we are at the circulation desk.  We use it for printing.  We use it for the computer reservation station.  It is also our backup computer when the line is getting long.  Without the public computers working (they didn’t work at all), the evening was very quiet.  The man from Department of Libraries came this morning and took a hard drive from one of our catalog computers and reformatted and added programs, etc. and got us back up and running.  It really is amazing how much quieter the library is when there are no public computers available.  About 10 minutes after we took the out of order signs down, the library was busy as can be!

Responses

  1. At least you got it fixed fairly quickly! 🙂

  2. Can’t live with ’em, can’t blow them up. Well, I guess you could, but the neighbors might call the police.

    • lol I don’t think an exploding computer would do much for library business! lol

  3. I used to LOVE when the public computers were down. Then we had hardly any patrons, yea!!! 🙂

  4. It was kinda nice in one way, but I also couldn’t get any work done at the desk (like normal). Couldn’t even check my email!


Leave a Reply

Categories

