Posted by: Becka | September 21, 2009

A Mower, a Spider, and a Snake

I had a wonderful, lazy weekend.  I loved it.  Saturday, Matt found a zero-turn mower to buy, so he was gone most of the day (since it was in Pennsylvania).  He and his dad went up to get it.  So, I lounged about the house, went to watch part of the girls’ volleyball tournament, made a quick (as quick as possible on a Saturday afternoon) shopping trip to Wal-Mart, mopped my kitchen floor (with my new mop) and watched a movie.  After dinner, Matt was showing me his mower and how fast it was and even gave me a ride. 🙂  While he finished mowing the front lawn, I sat on my porch enjoying the evening.  I saw a huge spider.  Ugh. 

Mower, Spider, Snake 005

 

Sunday afternoon, Matt, of course, had to try out his new mower in the daylight, so he was finishing up the lawn and our resident snake accidentally stuck his head up under the blades.  Thankfully, it wasn’t a gooey, gross mess, and so I could go over and check it out.  I must say that I am so glad that I never met our resident snake in person because after seeing it dead, I know I would’ve flipped.  It was huge!  Too bad though, because it was probably helping control our mouse population.  Matt put it in a container and took it to the school and put it in the refrigerator.  They’re going to dissect it in Biology today.

Mower, Spider, Snake 011

Mower, Spider, Snake 014

Responses

  1. I am glad that I never meet your snake! I am also glad that Matt got his zero turn mower!

  2. i only saw the inside of that snake and inside its stomach was a very cute little mouse. lol

  3. Matt said that the snake was a huge hit with the Biology class! He had a blast. 🙂

  4. yeah and the physics class because biology took most of it then volley-ball was leaving early (no physics) 🙂

  5. COOL!! There was a mouse in its stomach maybe it was the meal that killed it, jk. How decomposed was it? Don’t worry Rebek there are most likely more snakes in your yard. They obviously like mice. And how do you get those little faqces and symbols on youu notes.

  6. It wasn’t the meal that killed it. lol It definitely had a big slice on its neck from sticking it under the mower blades. lol I didn’t watch the dissection, but I don’t think the mouse was decomposed. Pretty sure, he had just had his last meal when he met his demise. Matt didn’t want to kill this snake as they do eat mice and it was probably greatly helping our mice population. We don’t think there is another, but Matt wouldn’t mind. I might. lol

    For the faces, you just type a colon : and then a parentheses ) and when you post it makes a smiley. I have no idea what symbols you are talking about. lol 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

