Posted by: Becka | December 2, 2009

Frugal Shopping

Like most people, I try to get good deals on groceries.  I use coupons, that is, if I find them for stuff I normally buy (otherwise it doesn’t save any money), and even catch a sale once in a while.  My husband is big on buying in bulk (as long as we can eat it all before it goes bad), and is always looking at the cost per ounce on the price tags.  So, following his good example, I implemented this money-saving technique when buying my dishwasher detergent.  Wow.  Never doing that again.  lol  It was about 2 cents cheaper per ounce to buy the huge box of dishwasher detergent.  Only here’s the problem.  Every time I go to use it, I have to get a really good grip and heave the 9 pound box of dishwasher detergent at an appropriate angle for disbursement.  The first time I went to use this ginormous box, I miscalculated the strength and grip it would require to complete the task successfully.  Almost dropped the stupid thing on my toes!  I learned very quickly to make sure my hands are completely dry and that both my hands are available for the task.  So though my arms have received an unexpected workout, I do not plan on buying the 9 lb. box of dishwasher detergent ever again.  That is, of course, unless my husband decides to do the dishes from now on.

Responses

  1. make matt do them. LOL

  2. lol… James is always looking at the price per ounce also… maybe you should get a smaller container and put a little bit in it and then refill it when you need too… maybe using one of those containers that Matt likes 🙂 good luck with frugal shoping

  3. Wow, that is a good idea. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that.

  4. I thought making Matt do the dishes was a terrible idea myself.

  5. Yeah, my bad – I was referring to the container idea – not Matt doing the dishes. He’s terrible at doing the dishes for this reason: he CAN fit everything into the dishwasher. Too well. Some stuff doesn’t get cleaned because it is packed in there. Yeah. I think I’ll do the dishes. lol

    Btw, Jay – nice pic.

  6. lol, i was going to suggest the smaller container thing as i was reading, then I realized Renae already mentioned it.
    I like coupons too, Christy and Zaz make fun of me for it. lol. Although I did notice they were quick to jump on the $1.00 Christmas concert…lol. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

