Posted by: Becka | December 31, 2009

2009

2009 was a great year.  What can I say?  I have a great husband, a great job, a great church, and I love living in Delaware.  It’s really amazing how fast the year goes by though.  I’ve already worked at my job for 2 years! 

The trials of this year mostly involved our house.  Last January, our bathroom pipes froze and we were without water for a few days.  Then in May, our basement flooded, ruining our hot water heater.  Out of hot water for over a week.  We got a new hot water heater, and a new sump pump.  Only to be flooded again!  Out of hot water for over a week – again – as we wait for the replacement part to our hot water heater.  Bought a battery backup sump pump.  Another trial of the year, at least for me, involved the numerous mice friends we have had living in our house.  This will continue to be a problem for a while, I think.  Just yesterday alone, we caught 4. 

The sad part of this year was in the summer as we lost 9 faithful kids from the youth group.  Four graduated, two moved out of state, 1 went back to Kenya with his missionary family, and 2 are going to different churches.  This really affected our church and activity attendance.  However, the Lord is still good and the youth group is continuing to do well.

Even with the rough economy, God has blessed Matt and I.  Matt got a raise at the beginning of the school year and while no raise is in the future for me, we both got a very generous Christmas bonus.  God has blessed our efforts to pay a lot on our house and things are looking good for the coming year.  We are and were especially thankful for the health insurance provided through my job as we had to take advantage of it a few times this year.

We had several visitors throughout the spring and summer and it was so much fun!  We got to see the Pastor and Mrs. Dunlop, my Dad, and the  Jr.s and Sr.s from LBA in the beginning of April, Tim came to visit in the end of April.  Jen visited in May (so fun), and my parents, sister, and James visited me in late July.  Oh, and John and Miriam came to visit.  We were bummed that it rained so much when Jen and then John and Miriam were there.  🙂  It was so fun to have all these people visit.  It was great showing them the sights (what there is to see and do) and reconnecting with everyone.  It also helped to keep my house cleaner than would have otherwise been the case.  🙂 

Really, this  year has been great, and I couldn’t ask for a better one.  A year equal to this one would be fine.  🙂  I’m sure if I took the time, the number of blessings that were showered upon us this year, would be almost too numerous to count.   We are looking forward to seeing the Lord work in our lives this coming year.

Happy New Year!

Responses

  1. I’m really amazed how each year keeps getting better than the last one. I am sad that this is the last day of 2009 because 2009 was such an awesome year! I don’t know how 2010 can top it. Glad you had a great year too! 🙂

  2. What about John and I coming to visit you in June?! I can’t believe you would forget about us and our wonderful visit to the beach!:) lol
    Happy New Year !!!

  3. Hey, I kinda got a mention! 😛

  4. Jen – Yeah, not sure about that either. Can’t wait to see what God has in store!

    Sara – you did get mentioned! 🙂

    Miriam – I KNEW I was forgetting something. SO sorry. 🙂 Fixed it though. 🙂 lol

  5. Thanks Becka, I feel much better now! lol 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

