Posted by: Becka | April 14, 2010

Country Traffic

I used to have a different perspective of “traffic.”  Growing up in LA County, you get used to bumper to bumper traffic.  Get used to it – I didn’t say I enjoyed it.  It was to my surprise that I discovered a different kind of traffic.  I first experienced this in Wisconsin.  Now that I live in a country area, I experience it often.  Believe it or not, there is traffic in the country! 

I was almost late to work this morning.  As always, Wednesdays are a rush for me.  Most days, I have over 2 hours to get ready for work and do some work around the house.  Wednesdays, I leave myself exactly 45 minutes from the time I get up until the time I am to leave for work.  I know, I know.  But I really love my sleep.  Today I left on time and even without too much of a last minute rush to get out the door.  Oh, the joys of two-lane roads.  I pulled out of my driveway after the traffic passed me – a white car, semi truck, and blue Ford truck.  Unfortunately for me (and those in front of me), the white car was a slow poke.  Fluctuating between 5 to 10 miles below the speed limit, this person caused major problems.  As our line of traffic weaved it’s way down the road, I was praying that the semi truck would pass the car.  It is illegal in Delaware to pass more than one car at a time.  Therefore, unless the semi passed the car, and the truck passed the car, I would be unable to pass anyone.  Thankfully, the semi passed the car.  On the next stretch of road when passing was legal again, the truck (with me close on his tail) passed the white car.  Blessed freedom!  I made it to work on time, but was definitely cutting it close!

Responses

  1. lol… and you used to think someone going right at the speed limit was a slowpoke! 🙂

  2. Ha ha remember our first Wisconsin traffic experiences and learning to be comfortable with passing people on the other side of the road? lol. Fun times…I sometimes miss the slower lifestyle….except when I remember things like leaving a party to run and buy ice cream at Wal Mart and it taking forever because the cashier wanted to straighten all the bags first. lol. 🙂
    But anyways, yeah, “traffic” is definitely different in different states!

  3. Yeah – I’m a pro at passing now. 🙂

  4. I remember that little adrenaline rush you get when trying to make it before the oncoming traffic gets you lol…


Leave a Reply

Categories

