Posted by: Becka | June 8, 2010

Personalized Drawstring Backpack

This past weekend, I finally got around to a project I was wanting to do.  My husband was getting rid of some worn out khaki pants and I wanted to do something with them besides just throwing them away.  I found this great tutorial that recycled them into a bag.  Now, I love those drawstring backpacks.  I use them all the time: for bike riding, hiking, a day in the city, etc.  LOVE them.  The only problem I have with them is that they are a pain to get your camera or chapstick out of at whim (since they are on your back).  So, I thought that if I ever found one with a side pocket, I would totally buy it.   Well, if I make my own, I can put pockets wherever I want!  Even a special one for my camera!  Needless to say, I fell in love with this tutorial.  Here was the result: 

 

 I even went a step farther than the tutorial.  I used fabric left over from a previous project and even recycled the zipper and back pocket from the khaki pants!  The only thing I have to buy is the cord.  Still have to do that.  lol  I’m so excited to use it!  And planning on making another one.  🙂 

My specially made pocket just for my camera! Easily accessible. 🙂 And made with a recycled zipper. lol

 

Recycled back pocket.

  

Inside lining.

  

The back where you can see the seam from the pant leg. lol

 

Responses

  1. Good job! =) I like the material.

  2. That’s so cute Rebekah! I want to copy some of these ideas. Re-using the pockets was so clever! Not to mention “earth friendly”.

  3. I love it… I am looking for a cute bag to use on outings… sooooo if you want to make another one I might be able to find a pair of pants to sent you. 🙂

  4. Jen – Thanks!

    Brenna – copy all you want. I got the idea from a tutorial. Here, at http://noodleheads.blogspot.com.
    She has all kinds of great tutorials (look at the right side of the screen).

    Renae – we might be able to arrange something. 🙂

  5. oh how fun and clever, very nice! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

