Posted by: Becka | July 1, 2010

Working on my Family History

I haven’t had much time to blog lately because I have been devoting all my extra time to researching my family history.  There is a family legend that we are related to John Adams, second President of the United States of America.  This would be my claim to fame, except I have no proof.  Only hearsay from relatives.  While I don’t actually doubt their sincerity and honesty, proof of this claim would be reassuring.  I decided to start out to try to prove it. 

I’ve also always had an interest in my ethnicity.  Truly, all that matters to me is that I am a proud American, but since I knew my ancestry on my mother’s side (my mother is pure Swede), I only knew that I was 50% Swedish.  The other 50% was a huge mystery that I desired to solve.

Inspired by these interests, I started researching my family history.  While I haven’t found enough information to get going on the Wilson side of the family (the John Adams side), I have found tons of information about the Seevers side (my father’s mother’s side). 

We have a long history of Americans.  I never expected my american heritage to extend all the way back to the 1600s!  That was before the U.S. was even a country!  I have found that in my ancestry, I am part Irish, part French, and part German (and rumored to be part Czechoslovakian).  Who knows what else I might find.  I did find that distant relatives of mine were a prominent family (back in the 1600s) and owned the Hope Plantation in Stafford, Virginia.  I haven’t yet gone farther than their English roots, but my coworker researched the Plantation and found that my distant relative, Daniel Matheny (also spelled Mathenayor Mathena), is a descendant of a prominent french family who served royalty (or something like that – still researching).  Anyways, the Matheny family can be traced back to the 1150s (supposedly).  I haven’t gotten that far yet, but wow.  I never expected that!

I am having so much fun doing my geneology.  I’m hoping to have relatives in both the Revolutionary and Civil Wars (since I already know I have some in WWI and WWII), but haven’t found that yet in any preliminary research.  I still need to work on my Grandpa Wilson’s side and try to find the connection to John Adams, and I’m also working on Matt’s family a little bit.  My children will be able to know where their family came from.

Needless to say, I’m having so much fun!  As I grow older, history in general, and of course, my own history has become much more interesting to me.

Responses

  1. Hi cousin 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

