Posted by: Becka | August 19, 2010

“What Did You Say?”

The other night, my husband and I were attempting to make plans for my birthday.  We wanted to have a cookout at the beach or the park and were trying to figure out the details.  We were talking about this as we walked to our car after church.  His mom was walking with us as we were giving her a ride home. 

My husband turns to me and says, “So, do you think the drill at home will work?”  Very confused, it took me several moments to say anything.  I was trying to figure out what a drill had to do with a cookout.  And why did he change the subject so quickly and drastically?  I came to the conclusion that maybe he didn’t want his mom to know what we were talking about.  Why he wouldn’t want his mom to know, you ask?  I really have no clue, but that was the only explanation I could come up with.

“Ummm…”  I say, “Whatever you think.”

“If you think the smaller drill will work, we’ll just use the one at home.” 

“Well,”  as I stall for time trying to sound like I know exactly what he’s talking about (all the while sending him strange smiles and quizzical looks), “You know more about that stuff than I do.  Whatever you think will work better.”

All of the sudden, we are back on track with the previous conversation.  “They could always come to our house for the cookout.”

My mind was going crazy.  I couldn’t make any sense of this strange conversation.  We dropped his mom off at home and went home ourselves.  “What was all that earlier with the drill?”

“What are you talking about?  I never mentioned any drill.”

“Yes, you did.  Remember?  In the parking lot?”

“Oooohhhhhhh.”  He says.  “That’s why you were giving me those funny smiles.”

“Huh?”

“The GRILL.  I was talking about the GRILL, not the DRILL.”

“Oh.  Umm… oops!”  Laughingly I explained all my thought processes.  He shared in my laughter.

The next day he comes home from work in the middle of his work day.  “I need to get the drill from the garage.” 

“Are you sure you don’t mean the GRILL?”

Responses

  1. lol… As James and I were getting ready for bed on Sunday night we were singing a Patch the Pirate song and James kept mixing up the words… I would sing the right ones and give him funny looks when he sang the wrong ones… as I laid down he said “I guess I won’t sing with you until I have wearned the lords (ponounced lurds)” lol it was so funny! 🙂 I am glad our husbands have a sense of humor!

  2. lol Beck =) Too funny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

