Posted by: Becka | September 13, 2010

Crab Fest!

Friday night, a family in our church, the Kramlichs, took Matt out with them on the Mispillion River to go crabbing.  They sent Matt home with a couple dozen crabs.  This was the first time I had seen Blue Crabs when they were uncooked.  I had no idea how pretty they were.  Comparatively speaking, of course.  But, really, the blue color is just brilliant. 

See? Brilliant blue. Oh yeah, and a catfish.

We moved them from the basket to the pot to store in the refrigerator overnight.  Now, I must admit, that seeing my food alive before I ate it didn’t bother me at all, but knowing that there were live creatures in my refrigerator?  That was a little creepy.  I seriously felt like they were going to come swarming out every time I opened the refrigerator door.  lol  Okay, I didn’t completely believe that, but it was a little creepy.  🙂

It was like playing "Monkeys in a Barrel!"

Side note:  There was a catfish stuck in with the crabs.  We gently removed him and let him go in the pond behind our house.

Saturday afternoon, we invited Matt’s parents over, steamed them….lol  I just had to write that in an ungrammatical way because it cracked me up.  Okay, so we steamed the crabs and about 30 minutes later were ready to dig in!  🙂 

Ready to steam!

Ready to EAT!

These crabs were definitely better than the crabs we had at the crab shack a couple of weeks ago.  I especially appreciated that I could run them in hot water and get rid of the guts a lot easier!  My definite favorite part of having crabs in the comfort of my own home.  The downside is that two days later, my house still stinks of crab.  And probably will for a few more days!  lol 

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience.  Matt loved it.  He especially loved that there were at least a dozen crabs leftover after our little feast.  Like I said, my house will continue to smell like them….  lol

For more pics of our Crab Fest, click here.

More info on the Blue Crab.

Responses

  1. did any of them get out when he moved them into the pot?

  2. nice… I am glad I don’t live by you… I am getting hives just reading this! 🙂 jk I am glad you enjoy your shellfish!

  3. None of them got out. 🙂 Thankfully. And I did enjoy!

  4. Yep, they look pretty. Too pretty to eat 😉

  5. I’m jealous, glad you enjoy eating seafood!


Leave a Reply

Categories

