Posted by: Becka | October 22, 2010

An Evening of Funny Randomness

I think my subconscious goal in life is to forget to buy something from my grocery list every time I go grocery shopping.  So far, I think I might have a perfect record. 

I went shopping yesterday morning as is my custom.  Later that evening when we were in town, I realized I had forgotten marshmallows.  It was on my list too!  Now, marshmallows were a necessary item.  We are having a Harvest Party at our house this weekend and we are having a bonfire.  Therefore, marshmallows are needed. Not only that, but I remembered to buy the chocolate and graham crackers for s’mores, but not the marshmallows. 

We were going out to dinner near Wal-Mart anyways, so making a quick stop was not a problem.  We were going to try out a new restaurant, but as it boasted to specialize in “Guatemalan, Mexican, and Salvadoran” food, Matt thought he wasn’t feeling that exotic (he said maybe if it listed just one of them – lol), so we opted for Chinese take-out instead.

While we were waiting for our Chinese take-out order (yum), we went over to Wal-Mart to get marshmallows.  Now, if I had been by myself, I probably would have never realized that there are 6 different kinds of marshmallows.  Did you know that?  I was somewhat surprised.  There were chocolate and vanilla marshmallows, caramel and vanilla marshmallows, strawberry marshmallows, mini marshmallows, and coconut covered marshmallows.  Wow.  Good thing the choice was easy.  Though I am curious as to how rice krispy treats would taste using the caramel or chocolate marshmallows. 

We grabbed our marshmallows and headed to checkout.  It was a typical Wal-Mart evening with longs lines everywhere, so we were going to do the self-checkout thing, only the lane got closed.  We went to the ten items or less line.  While still helping the people in front of us, the cashier asks in a very Delawarean accent and tone, “Do I know you from somewhere?”
Becka: ” Umm… from here.”
Cashier: “Oh, you used to work here?”
B: “No, I never worked here, I just shop here.”
C:  “I could have sweared I knew you from somewhere.”
(She’s actually checked out my items before at Wal-Mart, so I’m sure that’s the only place we’ve ever met.)

My husband said that after that first question, I should have asked, “Where do you go?”  lol  And on a hilarious side note, the people in front of us….well, the little girl was wearing a WWWF shirt, and the teenage boy…wearing a shirt with horses on it.  I seriously died laughing.

We finally picked up our chinese food (after a discussion on how they probably don’t pay taxes, but it’s okay because small businesses pay too many taxes anyways and also because their food is so wonderfully delicious), and as we went to leave, I said, “Well, at least that man spoke well English.”  I crack myself up sometimes.

Responses

  1. Maybe she knows you from the library =) I can’t count the number of times people have asked me where they know me from, and as soon as I mention the library, their eyes light up! It’s always the library. And it’s weird when you run into patrons around town, and find out that they actually have lives beyond library books. lol. Who knew?

  2. I seriously doubt it’s the library. I don’t recall ever seeing her here. I recall seeing her at her place of employment though! lol

  3. lol… this post along with with your shopping cart post have made your blog pretty hilarious the last couple days! 🙂

  4. Well, Thank you. It’s always nice to be told you’re funny. Mostly I just THINK I’m funny. 🙂

  5. On the topic of flavored marshmallows….yay food science! It’s actually kinda funny that they’re coming out with all that, because last year, when we were trying to develop some sort of product with flavored marshmallows and/or marshmallow creme, the most you could usually find at the store were coconut covered marshmallows and nasty, cheap chocolate-covered ones (believe me, we tried them, as we were looking at making a smores-related product with chocolate-covered marshmallows and we wanted to see what was being marketed), and now there’s a bunch available!

  6. How very interesting, Sara… yeah the coconut ones were covered, but the rest the flavors looked to be actually part of the marshmallow part. I might have to do some taste tests. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

