Posted by: Becka | November 9, 2010

Kitchen Terrors

I wish snakes didn’t hibernate.  I know that sounds crazy, but it’s true.  See, we have a nice big black snake that lives under or around our house.  I have only seen in it twice and that was enough for me.  However, this snake does me a huge service.  It eats the mice that want to live in our house.  All spring and summer long I had no evidences of mice and not a single mouse got caught in a trap (probably because they were all getting eaten by the snake).  However, we have caught three mice in the past 5 days.  I am really sad my snake is hibernating.  Fall has barely started and winter is coming and I’m already tired of the mess the mice are leaving everywhere.  They are eating my food, leaving nice little presents all over my clean towels, and in general making a nuisance of themselves. 

The other problem these mice are causing is a general avoidance of all things kitchen.  I open drawers containing mouse traps very carefully.  The other day I almost twisted my ankle in my haste to back away from the drawer I was slamming shut.  Yep, a nice dead mouse inside.  Once I find a mouse in a drawer, it matters not that the drawer is closed or that I can’t see said dead mouse, I just do not want to be in my kitchen.  Then my loving husband finally removes them from the drawer and drops them in the kitchen trash.  Then I don’t really want to throw anything away!  I squeeze my eyes shut, then crack them open a tiny bit so I can quickly open the lid, drop my trash in, and get away!  It’s like I’m afraid the dead mouse is going to jump out, which of course is silly.

The other day I found a mouse and I don’t think I’ve ever done the dishes that fast in my life.  I just wanted to get out of there!  So, sadly, these mice are causing a messy kitchen.  🙂  At least, that is what I’m currently blaming the mess on. 

In parting, I’ll leave you with a picture of a dead mouse.  I know some of you don’t want to see it, but it’s not terribly disgusting.  I was able to actually look at this one, so….  🙂

Don't ask me how that happened.

Responses

  1. he decided to use the trap for a blanket :)… I am sorry you are having mice problems again… they are going to have a party the week you are gone lol

  2. Ugh you’re not kidding. Sigh. I guess the only solution is traps EVERYWHERE! lol

  3. Sorry, gotta ask. What happened to that mouse? Did you kill it yourself? Took matters into your own hands with the trap?

    As a guy, I must say that it is a very cool pic!

  4. I’m gonna guess Beck did NOT deal with that mouse…lol =) Aww, he was kinda cute.

  5. Hahaha, no I didn’t deal with that mouse. I stood a good two feet away while my husband took the picture. (Though I asked him too for my blog).

    And I really don’t know how that mouse managed that. We heard him scurrying around, set the trap, heard the trap go off… and this is what we found! His tail was even stuck in the trap, like pressed against his back! Which I also observed from a safe distance. 🙂

  6. Awww, poor thing, it is sooo cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

