Posted by: Becka | November 18, 2010

What is With the Color Yellow?

In storytime yesterday, yellow seemed to be the prevalant color.  Not in the room, but with me.  Maybe it’s because I wore a pale yellow shirt.  Regardless, I found some interesting things out about myself.

We were doing our “mystery picture” in which shapes with colors and numbers are covering a picture.  As we removed the pieces, the children try to guess what animal lies behind the remaining shapes.  We give different clues using rhyming, colors, numbers, and shapes for the children to figure out what piece we are moving.  We had asked the color of a shape, and the ensuing loudness offered up the answer: “Yellow!”  After which a little boy looks at me and says in all sincerity, “Your face is yellow.”
What?  “Umm…thanks.”  I think (as I threw a somewhat bewildered glance at my coworker).
“My face is yellow too.” 
It actually wasn’t, it was pretty white as faces go.  Then from the back of the room, “Your hair is yellow!!!!” 
What?  “No, it isn’t.  It’s actually closer to orange.” 

Wow, kids are funny.  Also, when I asked a child his name, he proceeded (without any hesitation) to sing his name.  Well, rather sing how his name is spelled.  It took me a few seconds to figure out what his name was since I first had to realize he was spelling it.  He had to be 3 years old.  lol  It was kinda cute.
“♫ W-I-L-L-I-A-A-M ♫ ”
I think he might have inserted one too many “a’s.”

Responses

  1. lol you should try that when people ask your name! 😉 Too funny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

