Posted by: Becka | January 5, 2011

Slow Learner

You’d think after two or even three times of identical results, I’d learn.  But no.  Not possible.  I have a bad habit.  I love wearing earrings.  That’s not the bad habit, but the thing is that I love to take them off when I get home from work, or church, or shopping…  And that is where the problem arises.  Do I take them off and put them away?  I’m sure you can already guess the answer to that one.  Normally, my earrings will end up on the kitchen table, the coffee table, the tv tray, the end table.  You name any flat surface in my house and I bet that a pair of earrings has been there at one time or another.  Generally after a few days of earrings lying everywhere, I get the bright idea to take them upstairs to my dresser where they belong.  But do I hang them back up on the earring holder?  Sigh.  No.  I just pile them on my dresser.  Why can’t I be more organized?  I’m too lazy, that’s why. 

This is why I have lost all my favorite pairs of earrings.  Okay, maybe not the only reason, but I’m sure it played a big role.  One of my favorite hoop earrings mysteriously disappeared out of my bathrobe pocket somewhere between my bedroom and the bathroom.  I seriously searched for that thing for over an hour before I gave up.  It must have gone invisible!  But that’s besides the point. 

Anyways, what brought this rambling disaster of a post to be written was that I lost yet another pair of my favorite earrings this morning.  Well, actually, I might have lost them a while ago, and just noticed this morning.  I looked for them for over 10 minutes (which doesn’t sound like much, but when I only give myself less than an hour to get ready, eat, and make my lunch, 10 minutes is an eternity) and still didn’t find them.  I even started checking purse pockets and drawers (maybe they fell off my dresser?).  The only hope I have is that this time I misplaced both earrings, not just one.  So, they must be together, right?  I’m hoping that they show up in a random place in the next week or so.  Or I’m gonna cry, I think.  Cry and cry and cry for all of those favorite earrings I have lost over the years. 

Thankfully, so far, I haven’t lost any of my expensive earrings.  I guess because I’m a little more careful with them.  And also, I don’t have that many expensive earrings and they are for special occasions only, but still. 

Of course, I lost both of another set of earrings while at Niagara Falls.  I swear I put them right on the little vanity, but after looking all around it, in all the crevices and even under the carpet, those mysteriously disappeared as well.  They never showed up.  Sigh.  I really never learn.

Responses

  1. So does this mean I should stop buying you earrings as presents? (or just that I shouldn’t buy them at Swarovski anymore? lol)

  2. Would said lost earring set be Orange Topaz studs?… if so I have them because you left them at mom and dad’s 🙂

  3. Renae … did you steal your sister’s earrings?

  4. Leave it to your sister to hock your earrings. I never even saw them after you left.
    She’s fast on the draw.

  5. Renae!!!! I can’t believe you. lol Those weren’t the ones, but I was looking for those the other day.

    Jen – NO! Don’t stop buying me earrings. 🙂 I need more to replace lost ones…. hahaha jk.

    Mom – Man, she is fast on the draw. Sneaky of her. lol Come to think of it, she can’t even wear them because she’s allergic! She must just be a klepto. 😉

  6. I didn’t find them until right before Christmas so mom must not clean that table very often…They were sitting on the doily right by the lamp…I just happen to see them and picked them up since you had just given me an earring to fix 🙂

  7. Renae – lol I figured you weren’t really trying to steal them.. 🙂 Lemme know if you happen to find any others. lol Maybe that is what has been happening to all my earrings. I did lose that one mysteriously while you were visiting me…. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

