Posted by: Becka | March 24, 2011

What?

This morning, I was minding my own business and doing my weekly grocery shopping at Wal-Mart.  I had great success and proceeded to the check-out lanes.  I was in the lane of an african-american cashier.  She had those long fake fingernails (and she would have been slightly faster at keying in my produce without them, but whatever she wants…).

She asked me a question, and I didn’t hear her, so I asked, “What?” 
She repeated, “Is this green leaf lettuce?”
Me: “Oh, yes it is.”

For the remainder of the time it took her to ring up my 36 items, I received a nice long lecture.  That went along the lines of:

“The reason I looked at you funny is because I think it’s rude for people to say ‘What?’  Kids say it all the time.  I’ve tried to get over it, but I can’t.  It’s just rude.  When I was young, we said, ‘I beg your pardon?’  But I guess it’s just that kids these days aren’t raised right, and don’t know any manners.”

And on and on and on.  For at least 5 minutes.  It could have been longer, but I don’t want to exaggerate.  I must say it was not a nice feeling, especially because I did not consider myself to be even slightly rude.  I even tried to explain to her that I just didn’t hear her, but there was no stopping her once she started.   I really didn’t know what to say to stop her and she still had the rest of my groceries to do.  I must say, I was glad to leave though.  🙂  At the time, I was a little upset.  However, looking back, it’s a little humorous.

So, apparently, I’m rude, wasn’t raised right, and have no manners.  All because of a little four-letter question, “What?”

Responses

  1. lol…I am sorry you got a lecture…how old would you say she was? If she was mom and dad’s age it makes it even more funny 🙂

    • Hmm…maybe mid 40s? I’m really bad at age guessing. lol

  2. I can’t think of anyone more agreeable/less rude than you!

    • Awww… Thanks! 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness, how rude of her really! It is kind of funny though, lol. People here in Ohio say “Please?” when they don’t hear you, which the first couple of times I heard it thought it was really weird. I looked at them and said “What?” hahaha I guess that means I don’t have manners either!

    • lol Definitely makes me feel better. I’ve been asking everyone. Most people think they’re funny and say, “What?” lol Which I guess they are funny…

    • Haha Aleassa wow, “please” does sound funny. It’s so interesting how they say things differently in different parts of the country…
      Like everything in New England is “wicked” and they say quatter for quarter lol =)

      Beck, you really need to stop being so rude! lol jk 😉

      • Hahaha, I’ll just say “wicked” or “please” and then they will the ones saying, “What?” lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

