Posted by: Becka | May 19, 2011

The Mascara Dilemma

I don’t know what it is about putting on mascara, but I have a slight problem most mornings while putting on my makeup.  And no, it’s not that my face is so scary without makeup.  🙂  See, I will have just put on my mascara, and before it has a chance to dry, I will sneeze.  This causes my eyes to close almost violently and leaves mascara marks all around my eyes.  About 4 days of the week, I have this problem.  Then I have to fix my mascara and do touch up around the eyes. 

You’d think that I would be able to find some correlation, such as: “my allergies were especially bad those days,” or “I’m allergic to mascara.”  But neither of these seem to be the case.  I will not have felt the need to sneeze all morning long until the moment right after I have applied my mascara.  And then I won’t sneeze again.  By the way, holding the sneeze in doesn’t help.  lol  I wish it did.  So, maybe I’m allergic to mascara?  Well, apparently not, since it doesn’t happen every day, only often enough to be annoying.  Also, you’d think an allergy to mascara would result in itchy, watery eyes, or something of that nature.  Nope…no difference there either.

I just don’t understand!  Why do I have to sneeze right then?  Sigh.  Such is life.

Responses

  1. Yeah I think this happens to all of us. I’ve gotten pretty good at keeping my eyes almost open when I sneeze after mascara application, so that I don’t get mascara below my eyes. But it IS pretty hard to keep your eyes open..lol…takes lots of practice haha.

    • Guess I need more practice. 🙂

  2. I found a dry q-tip is the best way to get the smeared mascara off without removing all the eye make-up and having to start completely over. Good luck trying not to sneeze.

    • I do use q-tips for that very purpose. Q-tips are a great makeup applicator (and in this case remover). 🙂 Love it.

  3. Man, I hate when that happens!

    • lol…

  4. Haha, I do that too. Such a pain!


Leave a Reply

Categories

