Posted by: Becka | June 24, 2011

Wrist Strap!

A few days ago, I posted about my new wallet.  The only thing I didn’t like about it was the absence of a wrist strap.  So, I proceeded to design my own.  I must say that I’m totally happy with it.  It’s comfortable, functional, cheap, and removeable!  🙂

Here’s what I did:

1)  I cut three strips of fabric, each being 4 times the width I desired.

2) I ironed the strips into bias tape.  This means i first ironed them in half (lenght-wise) with the wrong sides together, then opened it up and ironed each side to the middle ironed guide, then folded all together and ironed one more time.  I have no idea if that makes any sense, but I’m sure you can look up how to make your own bias tape on other sites.

In the process of ironing.

3) I sewed the three strips together:

4)  After sewing, I secured it with a safety pin and proceeded to carefully braid the entire length of it.

5)  When I reached the end, I sewed the three strips together again.

6)  Once the braid is secured, I measured it around my wallet, measured the length around my wrist, pinned, and sewed across all three.  I left the braided ends sticking out a bit.  I had to re-sew the braid on one end as I had too much length left. 

7)  End result!

 

After taking this picture, I realized that I should probably put the strap on in the other direction so my cards won't accidentally fall out. They aren't that loose, but....I'd rather be safe than sorry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

