Posted by: Becka | August 29, 2011

The Devastation of Hurricane Irene

Disclaimer:  This post is in no way making light of those who suffered from Hurricane Irene.

This hurricane was rather a let down for me.  I was all excited for an adventure of surviving a hurricane, being without power, and being awestruck by the power of a hurricane.  I was sorely disappointed.  While there were some interesting winds and lots of rain, I’ve seen stronger winds and more rain in a thunderstorm around here.  In fact, I’m pretty sure it rained just as hard during the thunderstorm on Friday evening.  Now, that thunderstorm was short compared to the all day downpour we had on Saturday, but still. 

The area in which I live is prone to lose power easily.  We lose it sometimes in the middle of a gorgeous day!  A year or so ago, we lost power during a blizzard and were without power for four days!  I fully expected to spend most of the hurricane event stuck in my house reading by oil lamp.  However, we lost power for a whopping 3 seconds..or something like that.  I know that the power outage was more of a flicker because while our air conditioner went off and came back on, in the morning all of our clocks were reading their correct times. 

It was a blessing that there was no damage to any part of our property.  In fact, the biggest branch that fell was about an inch and a half in diameter.  The town of Greenwood did experience some pretty significant flooding, but by Sunday afternoon it was receding, and by the time I came to work this morning, everything is appearing normal once again.

Matt and I enjoyed our Saturday by going to an auction.  Matt was hoping the crowds would be smaller so he could get better deals.  While they were probably smaller than they would have been had it been sunny with no hurricane on the way, there was still a decent crowd.  We still got some good deals though.  🙂 

The biggest casualty of the hurricane among people who I know, was this huge tree that blew over on the house of a friend of mine:

Other than that, the only other casualty I am personally related to is the minor injury I caused to my leg by not moving out of the way of a tree branch we were cutting down.  lol  Oops. 

 For more pics of the Hurricane flooding, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

