Posted by: Becka | September 9, 2011

Rain, Rain: Wow, You Really Came Down

Yesterday we had a very rainy day.  When I say very rainy, I mean more rain fell than most rainy days, and definitely more than almost any rainy day in California.  The amazing thing is that it didn’t rain all day.  We had two big thunderstorms each lasting about 30-40 minutes. 

The town of Seaford to the south of us, got 10 inches of rain in 5 hours!  It was crazy.  They had all kinds of flooding. 

I was on my way home from shopping when I saw an ominous sight:

The weird thing is that is was sunny when I left the school building (about 2 miles away).  I hurried up my driveway and speedily took my groceries into the house.  About 2 minutes later, the heavens opened up.  🙂  It was raining so hard that it seriously looked like a waterfall was falling down my windows.  I couldn’t see outside very well for all the water falling from the sky.

When all was said and done, we got over 7 inches of rain.  In two thunderstorms!  Now this is what I expected the hurricane to be like (which in essence, I guess these storms were a part of Hurricane Lee), buckets of water falling from the sky and high winds.  Well, we had buckets of water falling yesterday, but the winds weren’t very terrible. 

After the first storm, I heard our backup pump beeping (which it does whenever it has to come on).  I realized that this meant there was more water in our basement than our big pump could handle.  I took a look and there were a couple of inches of water in the bottom of our basement.  No worries, it wasn’t high enough to do any damage.

Then I went to leave for work.  The area where my car was parked that was previously nice and dry was a huge puddle of water!  I took my shoes and socks off, waded through the ankle-deep puddles and climbed in my car.  Then I put my shoes back on.  🙂  Nice and dry.  lol 

Unfortunately I couldn’t say the same of our basement or yard:

There is a possibility for more rain today, but hopefully it won’t be as torrential as yesterday’s as there is already flooding.  More flooding would obviously make things worse.  🙂  Regardless, I definitely enjoyed the awesome rainfall yesterday.

Responses

  1. I wish we would get a thunderstorm or a nice rainstorm…We got a little thunderstorm the other night but only a couple little rumbles!

  2. so weird. at work (in rehoboth) we had a downpour that lasted about 10 minutes and it rained on and off all day but nothing torrential. when i got to about ellendale on my way home i started noticing how much water was in the ditches and fields. then i got to g-wood and saw the ditches were about a foot from overflowing. crazy, how weather works.

    • It is quite strange…Too bad you missed out on the (in my opinion) hurricane worthy downpours. 🙂

  3. Kinda reminds me of what the sky looked like when we’d get tornadoes in WI. Scary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

