Posted by: Becka | November 18, 2011

Anatomy of My Burn – Part 1

A week ago, when Matt was out of town, I was in charge of the wood stove.  I did a great job getting a really hot fire going.  As I was putting more wood on, I smashed my thumb.  Really badly.  It even took the top layer of my fingernail off.  It hurt soooo bad!  While I was concentrating on the pain in my thumb, I realized the wood stove doors were still wide open.  I thought, “This is gonna hurt for a while, I’d better shut those doors.” 

Oops.  I touched the hot metal handle, resulting in a second degree burn on my left palm.  My thumb didn’t hurt anymore.  🙂  My wonderful in-laws came over and tended to my burn. 

The morning after it happened:

The second morning after the burn:

5 days after I burned my hand:

It’s starting to get better instead of worse!  This morning (8 days after I burned it):

 

Responses

  1. =( it hurts just to look at it lol

  2. my advice: don’t touch hot things.

    • Hmm..I’ll try to remember that advice. lol It stinks because I KNEW better, but in my previosly pain-crazed mind (or so I thought), I forgot.

  3. Oooo, I almost couldn’t look at the pics. I burned my finger on a woodstove when I was 11, and I still remember how much it hurt! Glad its looking better.

    • Thanks! It looks a lot worse than it feels. My father-in-law gave me some silvadene cream and the pain from the burn was gone the morning after it happened! Sometimes the blisters hurt a little bit, but overall it doesn’t hurt much at all. The bandage is annoying, but I’d rather have it nice and clean, I’m sure. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

