Posted by: Becka | February 27, 2012

Hair Experiment – Introduction

I have been unhappy with how my hair has been lately.  My curls were not as “bouncy.”  My curls were rather limp and my hair was feeling rather dry.  As a result, I was rarely wearing my hair down. 

I decided to do something about it and started scouring the internet for how other people enhance their curls (without too much time and effort, of course).  There are many, many ideas out there on working with curly hair.

One of the big ideas is from a book called Curly Girl by Lorraine Massey.  The basic idea is that shampoo has chemicals that weigh down and sometimes damage curly hair, so the best thing for curly hair is to use only conditioner and not shampoo your hair – ever.  It also has tons of suggestions for home-made recipes to use on your hair.  I had read this book a while back, and since Ihave to shampoo my hair, this was not an option for me.  If I go one day without washing my hair, my scalp is itchy all day long.  Not to mention that my hair starts feeling greasy and gross.  Also, while I have nothing against home-made remedies and hair products, I do not have the patience or desire to invest time and money into them.  So, this method was out for me. 

There are other ideas out there about the types of shampoo you should and should not use (as silicones in shampoo will dry your hair out).  I was hesitant to even try to find a silicone free shampoo as most of the ones you find online are expensive.  So, at the start of this experiment, I went to Wal-Mart and spent a lot of time in the hair product aisle.  Imagine my surprise and excitement to find a silicone-free shampoo by Pantene Pro-V!  This made it the same price I was already spending on my shampoo and conditioner (as I have used Pantene Pro-V Curly for over a year now).

Then there are different methods of styling:
1.  Plopping/Plunking
      While this sounds like a new kind of photo-taking phenomena, it is actually just a basic method of using a t-shirt to pile your hair on the top of your head while your hair is drying.

2.  Rake and Shake
     To me, this sounds like a food product or a dance.  Actually, it involves raking your fingers through your hair and then before letting go of the ends, shaking the strands vigorously. 

After reviewing all of my research, I decided to embark on my own hair experiment.

The plan:
1.  Use several different shampoos and conditioners until I find one right for my hair.  I will do this by using the same shampoo/ conditioner combination for a week (or more) straight before switching to a new combination.

Pantene Pro-V Curly – I’ve used this product for over a year now, and have so far been pleased with it.  However, as this experiment is a result of my dry hair, I will be trying other shampoos and conditioners as well.

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine – I used this one a while back, and then when I started using other products, it got shoved to the back of the cabinet.  I found it recently before starting this experiment and realized I had stopped using it because it dried my hair out.

Dove Damage Therapy Intensive Repair – If dryness is part of my problem, then this product should do the trick!  My husband started using it a year ago and hasn’t had problems with even a dry scalp since!

Pantene Pro-V Aqua Light – This is a silicone free shampoo that isn’t expensive!  In fact, this was the only silicone free shampoo that I found at Wal-Mart.  Hopefully it will live up to its expectations.

2.  Use different hair products until I find the several that work best for my hair and give me the best results.  I figure if I use the same product for each different kind of styling method, it should give me a clear view of how well or badly each product works for me.


Pantene Pro-V Curl Lock Hairspray – This is my go to hairspray.  Doesn’t leave you with “crunch,” but keeps my curls in place.

Herbal Essences Set Me Up Spray Gel – Ever since Suave changed their spray gel formula, this has been my primary hair product.  It coats evenly, keeps my hair from getting overly frizzy, and helps define my curls.  I recently tried their Tousle Me Softly product and was not at all pleased with the results.  Frizz city!

TreSemmé Flawless Curls Extra Hold Mousse – This product is the best mousse I’ve ever used on my hair.  It holds the style, defines the curls, and doesn’t leave any crunch! 

TreSemmé Flawless Curls Curl Hydration – I don’t use this cream often as the mousse leaves my hair decently soft and not crunchy, but if you feel the need to put in lots of product (to reduce frizz), I would highly recommend this lotion.  It basically makes your hair immune to “crunchiness.”  🙂  I love it.

John Frieda Frizz-Ease Dream Curls – A new product that I’m excited to try!

TreSemmé 24 Hour Body Sculpting Gel – This product looks promising as I have like the other TreSemmé products I’ve tried.

3.  Find the method or methods that work the best for my hair and continue with new and improved curls!

I started my experiment this past Saturday, and so far have been pleased with the results.  Pictures of results, my likes and dislikes, as well as exact products used will be discussed in future posts.

Responses

  1. wow. I never realized how much thought people put into their hair.

    • lol That’s because you don’t have curly hair….

  2. I had a roommate with super curly hair, and she showed me how to make even my kinda-wavy hair curly without frizz, the same way she did her hair. (Her hair always looked awesome.) As soon as she got out of the shower, she wrung out her hair with her hands, didn’t touch it with a towel at all, then flipped her hair over upside down and combed it with her fingers. Then she put a ton of Finesse Moisturizing Mousse ( i don’t even know if they still make that) in her hair and diffused her hair, until it was almost dry. She kept her hair upside down the whole time. Then she flipped it up and it had so much body and was never frizzy or crunchy. I did it too and I don’t even have curly hair, but my hair always got curly—not as curly as hers of course, but I really liked it. Anyway, you probably know all those tricks already, but I thought I’d share! 🙂

    • Thanks, Aleassa! I don’t leave mine upside down the entire time, but I might have to add that to my experiment! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

