Posted by: Becka | February 28, 2012

Hair Experiment – Week 1

So far, I’m very pleased with the results of my hair experiment.  However, before I go into details, a little more introduction is required.

Before starting this experiment, I did the same routine with my hair every morning.  After my shower, I’d wrap it in a towel.  Later, I’d comb it, apply product, and blow dry it using my diffuser. 

In all my research, I found that everyone suggests either combing your hair in the shower with the conditioner still in it, or not combing it at all and using your fingers as a comb (while in the shower with your conditioner).  This is now a part of my new routine.  This experiment is to find the subsequent parts of my routine.  🙂

Week 1:

1.  Wash Hair using Dove Damage Therapy Intensive Repair Shampoo.

2.  Condition Hair using Dove Damage Therapy Intensive Repair Conditioner.

3.  Comb Hair before rinsing out conditioner.

4.  Dry hair in a scrunching motion using a t-shirt.  In my research, I found that using a terry cloth towel makes your hair more frizzy, but the jersey material does not.

5.  Apply product – this week I stuck to my tried and true products mentioned in the previous post.

6.  Style hair using a different method each time.

7.  Blow dry with diffuser (in the summer I can let it air dry…)

Day 1 (Saturday):  I used the plopping/plunking method. 
Plopping/Plunking – v. the act of piling your hair on top of your head and securing in place with a t-shirt while it dries  (this is my own definition).
Plopping my hair was rather easy.  If you have time (you need at least 15-20 minutes), then plopping is a really easy way to get your curls nice and also get them decently dry.

Day 2 (Sunday):
As I was in a rush, besides switching up the combing of my hair and how I “towel” dried it, I did everything like I would have normally.

Day 3 (Monday):
I did the Rake and Shake method.  The rake and shake method involves running your fingers through your hair and then shaking vigorously when getting to the ends of your hair.  I did not like this method.  My hair was not as soft as the other days and I just overall did not like it’s appearance.  I don’t think this method would even be helped with a different hair product.  Therefore, this method is now eliminated from the experiment.  🙂

Day 4 (Tuesday):
Today I tried what I’m calling the “Upside-Down Method.”  A friend of mine left this method as a comment in yesterday’s post, and I attempted it today.  Basically from the time I dried my hair with a t-shirt until the time I was finished blow drying it, I didn’t tip my head back up.  I stayed upside down the entire time.  I’m not displeased with this method, but I wasn’t pleased with how my product worked with it.  Perhaps a different product would have better results.  Just a note:  Don’t try this method when you have a headache.  It doesn’t really help things.  😉

At the end of this week’s experiment, I am very pleased with the results.  Overall, my hair is more curly.  So far, I’ve liked the look and feel of the Plopping/Plunking method the best.  My hair was the curliest and most manageable. 

Which is your favorite from this week?  (Please excuse the pics from Day 4, that headache is making me look haggard….lol)

Previous posts in this series: Hair Experiment – Introduction.

Responses

  1. On the whole, I think the plopping/plunking method looks the best, both from the front and the back. The upside down method looks great too but I would imagine it would be a pain to do every day.

    • Thanks, Karen! The upside down method will be good for days when I need my hair completely dry and I’m in a rush. 🙂

  2. I definitely agree with the plopping method; I think that looks the best. 🙂

    • Thanks, Beth!

  3. I think as far as a front view, I like the first picture best. And for the back of the hair, I like the first and third pictures best. I know that doesn’t help much lol.

    • Thanks! Well, at least two of your choices belong to the same styling technique. lol I didn’t like the end results (esp for the front) of the Rake and Shake technique, which is the back of the 3rd one, but I just had a great idea! If I want to wear my hair only partly up, the rake and shake looks fine in the back, and then the front view doesn’t matter as much. 🙂 So, yes, it was helpful. 🙂

  4. The plopping method looks really pretty! I like that one the best on you!

    • Thanks! And thanks for the “upside-down” tip. 🙂

  5. My favorite product is frizz ease curl mouse it makes my hair a lot curlier and less frizzy while not being ‘crunchy’ at all. May be something to consider experimenting with the plopping?

    • Thanks for the suggestion! Curlier is always better! 🙂 So is less frizzy. lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

