Posted by: Becka | March 19, 2012

Going to an Auction

This weekend, my husband and I went to an auction.  He told me I’d like this one, and to my surprise, he was right!  I had such a great time!  The auction was held on an Amish farm, which created a very charming atmosphere.  I was sorely tempted to walk around taking pictures of all the Amish men, women, and children, but I didn’t want to offend them.  I settled for taking a few pictures of the horses and buggys.  🙂

We got tons of fun, unique stuff.  Some of the stuff we brought home could fall in the junk category, but I’m so excited about the things we got.  Oh, and I thought it was interesting that one of the Amish men was one of the auctioneers.  Needless to say, the entire circumstance and atmosphere intrigued me.  🙂

You can see a few Amish men in this pic...

I was super excited about the box of old books I acquired.  It got the entire two boxes of books for $2.  🙂  I am so excited to read the Nancy Drew books and compare them to the current Nancy Drew versions.  The oldest book I got was printed in 1902 and the most recent book was printed in 1937.  Only a few of them were super moldy.  The rest of them only had a slightly musty smell.  In fact, one of the little Amish boys caught me smelling the books and was laughing at me.  He must have been thinking, “Crazy English woman!”  lol

Matt got some old tools, some more old lanterns, and a few other cool things.  While Matt was bidding on some things, I was near the back of the crowd and noticed this man had a cut on his hand that was bleeding.  I offered him a band-aid.  He said “I didn’t know we had a nurse here!” and then offered to buy my something.  lol  I should have taken him up on the offer.  🙂

I’m also really excited about the cast iron bell we got.  Once it’s mounted, I’ll be able to ring Matt in for dinner.  lol  Should be fun. 

We also got this silver teapot/coffee pot thing that Matt said he thought looked like “the real deal.” 

After much research this morning, I found that it was made in 1927 and is actually a cocktail shaker.  lol  Don’t know what I’m going to do with a cocktail shaker…  I haven’t yet determined how much it’s worth.  It’s harder to find that information online than I thought it would be.  🙂

All in all, I had such a great time, that I would jump at the chance to go to an auction there again.  Who knows?  Next time I might be able to get some pictures of the Amish people.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

