Posted by: Becka | March 30, 2012

Adventures in Sleeping

A few weeks ago, I was awakened by my husband in the middle of the night.  Only he wasn’t gently tapping my shoulder and softly calling my name.  No, he was frantically searching under his pillow while kneeling on the bed.  As I awakened fully, and tried to figure out what was going on, I asked him, “Are you awake?”

“YES!”  Well, okaaay, sometimes he isn’t awake.  🙂

“TURN ON THE LIGHT!”  he frantically yells.

“Right now?” as I’m reaching for the light.

By the time I get the light on, my husband is now sitting at the end of the bed after frantically swiping at his arms, legs, head…

Then as I turn to look at him, now bathed in the light from the bedside lamp, he’s slapping his arms!  Multiple times.

By this point, I’m so confused that all I can do is stare.  I finally, and somewhat timidly, ask, “Are you okay?”

Breathing heavily, he blinks at me, looks around him, and says calmly, “Yeah.  I thought there was a spider.”

He’s deathly afraid of being bitten by a spider.

In the course of laughingly talking of the entire incident, we both come to the realization that he was not awake until he woke himself up while slapping his arms.

Cue more laughing.

The most humorous part of all, is that a similar episode, thought not quite so…animated, happened two nights before.

Moral of the story?  Don’t sleep in positions that cause your hands to fall asleep.  You might think a spider is biting you.

Responses

  1. Wow! It’s amazing that he doesn’t sleep walk.

    • It’s a good thing he doesn’t sleep walk! I’d NEVER know when he was awake or asleep. lol

  2. lol…I am laughing so hard I am crying! 🙂 I am just imagining the whole scene wow…I can hardly type I am laughing so hard 🙂 Love you both

    • lol I know how you feel. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

