Posted by: Becka | June 22, 2012

Doodle Pillowcase

One of the reasons I love my job so much is that I get to do crafts periodically as part of my job!  For our Teen Summer Reading Program, I was in charge of Teen Crafts.  On Pinterest, I saw a tutorial on a Doodle Pillowcase.  It looked fun, and rather easy, so we decided it would make a good teen craft. 

The tutorial was easy to follow and I was very pleased with how my pillowcase turned out.  Since the goal was to paint the pillowcase to look like notebook paper, I first penciled in the lines:

Once the lines were penciled in, I mixed the fabric paint (I used Biocolor paint and the fabric medium).  I was happy that we had a turquoise color as it was perfect for notebook paper lines.

Thankfully, the paint I used dries fast!  I was able to start on the red line almost as soon as I finished the blue lines (this is especially important as we are trying to fit the craft into a 2 hour period).

Once the red line was done, I added the “holes.”

I ended up with a really large piece of notebook paper!  It turned out awesome!

Now, the idea is to use washable markers to “doodle” on your pillowcase, and then when you want to clear the page, you wash it and the markers will wash off, giving you a blank page to start with again.  I wasn’t sure how well the markers would wash off, so after following the instructions and heat-setting all the lines (by ironing them), I took a black washable marker and colored very heavily on the inside of the case.  I then threw it in the wash with my darks (and didn’t follow the instructions on the washable markers package which said to wash in hot) and I washed it in cold.  🙂  The marker washed right out!  I was excited and rather impressed. 

So, my next bright idea was to change my doodle pillowcase into the advertisement for the craft!  I had to freehand it, so things didn’t turn out exactly like I had envisioned, but I’m still rather pleased with it!

Tips: 
1.   After painting the first line, I realized the paint was leaking through to the other side, so I put a piece of cardboard inside the case as I painted.
2.  If you color too heavily with the markers, it also bleeds through.  My recommendation would be NOT to color on the pillowcase while it’s on your pillow, unless you want a colorful pillow.  😉

If you want to make your own, I used the DIY Doodle Pillowcase Tutorial.

Responses

  1. Love it…I think you should send me one 🙂

    • lol….we’ll see. 😉
      Jacob would LOVE scribbling on it. Of course, he’d get pretty messy and he might start coloring on other fabric he isn’t supposed to, but….he’d have fun, nonetheless. 🙂

  2. Wow, my daughter would LOVE that! That’s a cute idea, and I have to say coming up with a teen-friendly craft isn’t easy, so good job with that too. 🙂

    • 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Cute! We made pillowcases for a craft when I was a kid and had so much fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

