Posted by: Becka | June 25, 2012

Armpit Problems

Okay, my title about cracked me up, but in truth, this post is all about armpits.  Or rather, armpit stains.

I don’t know about you, but my shirts tend to get armpit stains.  You know, those nasty discolorations on your clothes.  I hate them.  I have tried everything I can think of as well as other people’s solutions to this problem.  I tried my mom’s tried and true stain removal recipe that she used often when I was a kid.  I tried my sister-in-law’s trick of spraying each shirt with oxi-clean before laundering.  I tried the solution listed on my washer of an ammonia and color-safe bleach paste (and boy did it water the eyes!).  Needless to say, I’ve tried numerous things and none of them produced the desired results.

Then I was on everyone’s favorite site these days, pinterest, and found a post on removing armpit stains.  Now, I must say that I was pretty skeptical.  I had pretty much reached the point of giving up.  I just figured that I would forever have to discard shirts due to the unsightly and embarrassing stains they acquired.

However, this post had a recipe that was almost too simple to be true.  As I had all the ingredients on hand, I decided to give it a try. 

You can almost imagine my amazement and excitement as I found that this recipereallyworked!  I used it on all my white shirts.  I used it on all my colored shirts.  I must say, it is a new favorite.  It was like getting a whole new wardrobe – almost.  🙂

By now, I hope you are dying of curiosity to discover what this “secret” recipe is.  🙂  Tune in next week…..  lol  Just kidding.

The secret armpit stain removal recipe:

1 tbsp. Dawn dish soap
2 tbsp. Hydrogen Peroxide
2 tbsp. Baking soda.

Mix and rub into stain.
That’s it!  🙂

The site where I got my information said to scrub this mixture into the stain, let it sit for an hour and launder like normal.  The first time I tried it, I tried to scrub it in using an old toothbrush, but the mixture mostly globbed on the toothbrush.  Now, I just use a spoon to apply it and use the back of the spoon to kind of mash the paste into the stain. I only let mine sit for 30 minutes, and the results were amazing. 

I did not take any pictures, because while they would have shown the amazing difference, it was slightly embarrassing.  🙂  And I didn’t really feel like airing my dirty laundry all over the internet (pun intended – lol).

I thought I should share in case there are others out there with the same frustrating problem I had.  Oh, and the original link?  Goodbye to Yellow Armpit Stains.

I also found a post with gross…I mean, great pictures.  This is from someone else who saw this recipe on pinterest and gave it a try… Craft Whatever.

If  you try this, let me know your results!  🙂

Responses

  1. Dawn dish soap…such a magic ingredient! That stuff is seriously miraculous in so many ways. I’ll have to remember this recipe, now that I know it actually works.

  2. I have been using a mix of dawn and hydrogen peroxide for all our stains (thank you pinterest!) with great results. I’ll have to try adding the baking soda for the tougher stains!

  3. I don’t have that problem since I just don’t sweat. Bwahahah ;P I was wondering why I was so behind on all your blog posts and then I remembered I was gone for a week, duh! Now I’m getting caught up =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

