Posted by: Becka | February 13, 2013

Proof Reading

As I read books, and not just children’s books, I often detect misspellings.  Once, as I was reading a book, a random name appeared in the middle of it and it took me a while to figure out that the author must have changed the name of her hero and missed one!

Today, I opened up the book I was going to read for Story-time and found this:

February 194

Someone did not have a very good proof reader.  I’m pretty sure no one is named “Pop-Up.”  Now that I live in slower lower Delaware, I know what this term is supposed to be.  It’s supposed to be that child’s endearment for his grandfather, “Pop-Pop.”  As in, “Papa’s Papa.”  lol

This gave my coworkers and me a good laugh this morning.  Pop-Up.  lol  Too funny.

Someone needs to either hire a proof reader, or fire the one they already have.

Responses

  1. Haha I love finding misspellings too. And I also once read a book where partway through the author definitely changed something and didn’t notice it. I can’t remember what, but it was SO odd and really confused me for a while.
    That’s really funny. Is that the only reference to “Pop Up”?

    • That was the absolute only time the Grandfather is mentioned in the book. On the first page. lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

