Posted by: Becka | July 16, 2013

6th Anniversary – Natural Bridge

Friday morning, we headed down to Natural Bridge.

I didn't notice my tag was sticking up until later.  lol

I didn’t notice my tag was sticking up until later. lol

The view from our hotel room.

The view from our hotel room.

I'm unsure if this means the free breakfast is the senior discount, or that seniors get a discount on the free breakfast....

I’m unsure if this means the free breakfast is the senior discount, or that seniors get a discount on the free breakfast….

On our way to Natural Bridge, we stopped at this amazing site (I was so confused as I thought I was in Virginia…):

Foamhenge - a weird, but somewhat cool sight.

Foamhenge – a weird, but somewhat cool sight.

6th Anniversary 052
We finally made it to Natural Bridge, where I was excited to learn that there were no height restrictions:

I don't think I would have made the cut, otherwise.

I don’t think I would have made the cut, otherwise.

Soon after arriving, we started down the trail to Natural Bridge.  The sign proclaimed that there were 178 stairs down.  While I didn’t count them, I’m pretty sure they multiplied on the way back up.  😉  The walk down (and up later in the day) was absolutely gorgeous!

6th Anniversary 058

6th Anniversary 068

6th Anniversary 069

6th Anniversary 072

6th Anniversary 075

6th Anniversary 080

As we came around the bend, down the walkway to the Natural Bridge, I was awestruck at the wonder, awesomeness, and size of it!  My words or pictures will never do justice to the feeling (I had never seen any pictures and had no idea it was so huge!).

6th Anniversary 083

6th Anniversary 087

6th Anniversary 088

6th Anniversary 100

6th Anniversary 111

6th Anniversary 123

We continued the walk down the Natural Bridge trail to see many other beautiful sights.

6th Anniversary 132

6th Anniversary 138

6th Anniversary 149

6th Anniversary 152

6th Anniversary 155

6th Anniversary 164

6th Anniversary 165

6th Anniversary 167

6th Anniversary 169

This cute old couple made me smile.  They were super sweet.  🙂

By the time we ended the trail, we were starving!  We had a little lunch at the Cafè before heading back up those 178(+) stairs.  It was such a great morning!

Responses

  1. Aw Becka your pictures are great! What a nice trip! (particularly love the Tolkien quote 🙂 We really must get together and share stories soon 🙂

    • For reals! Let me know when you’re back in town and we’ll arrange something. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

