Posted by: Becka | October 18, 2013

Tendinitis

A couple of weeks ago, I noticed a slight pain in my left thumb, near the joint, every time I picked up something or grabbed something.  I didn’t give it much notice, but thought it was strange as I couldn’t remember hurting it.

Over the next few weeks, things just got worse.  It got to the point that this past week, my thumb hurt sometimes when i was doing nothing!  I reached the point of calling the doctor when I tried to crochet on Saturday and realized my thumb was hurting when I did so (it hadn’t hurt while crocheting up to that point).

I made an appointment with an orthopedic doctor for this past Thursday. He looked at my thumb for a total of 5 minutes.
“You have tendinitis.”
Sigh.  He wants me to go to physical therapy three times a week for four weeks.  Since I don’t have time for that (seriously, just don’t have time for three one-hour sessions), I’m hoping that the physical therapist doesn’t see a need for that much therapy.

The good news in all this is that the doctor thinks it will heal and I will have little to no problems with it in the future.  He also indicated that it was not caused by my crocheting (though he did say that the crocheting might have aggravated it).

The most interesting thing of all, is when I started researching tendinitis online, I found that many other women have experienced tendinitis only during pregnancy and that their symptoms just “came out of nowhere.”  Most of their symptoms went away after pregnancy or after a few weeks of pregnancy.  I called my OB/GYN, but she didn’t know anything about tendinitis being related to pregnancy.  I’m more inclined to believe all the personal testimonies of it though!  It made me feel better as at least I have an idea of what cased the tendinitis!

Here’s hoping therapy goes well and that I can crochet again soon.  I have Christmas orders to work on!  🙂

Responses

  1. It should clear up soon, hopefully 🙂 good wishes going your way…

    • Thank you! So good to hear. lol

  2. ouch! I’m sure it will get better soon if others have had that same experience. .bad time of year for hand injuries though!

    • It really is a bad time. Then again, I found out early enough I was able to stave off too many orders! 🙂

  3. good luck on the therapy- Since you can’t crochet, guess you’ll just to hang out more with your cool neighbors instead 🙂

    • lol That sounds good! If I can stay awake long enough to hang out. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

